Wyoming Car Title Transfer and Registration

Vehicle registration must be completed with the Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT) in order to legally drive on WY roadways. So what do you need to take with you to complete your transaction the first time? It depends on how you own your automobile (leasing, making payments, or owner with title) and how you want to register (single, joint, business or transfer to family member) your automobile.

Wyoming law requires all new WY residents to register their vehicles as soon as they become residents of the state:

  • Work in Wyoming AND own, rent or lease a residence.
  • Purchase or hold a current resident hunting or fishing license.
  • File a homestead tax exemption.
  • File a military tax exemption.
  • Live in Wyoming for 120 days.

Once you satisfy Wyoming residency requirements, you must visit your local county treasurer’s office to register your vehicle.

Vehicle Registration & Title Transfer Process

To complete the registration of your vehicle and transfer the title with the Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT) county treasurer’s office, you must provide the following:

  • Vehicle Title
    • A copy of your vehicle title (or the title number) if financed.
  • Current registration from your previous state (if applicable).
  • Proof of insurance.
  • Your vehicle identification number (VIN), if financed.
  • A copy of the dealer invoice, if you purchased the vehicle at a dealership.
  • Your lease agreement (if applicable).
  • A completed Application for Certificate of Title and VIN/HIN Inspection (MV-300A).
  • A weight slip, if you are registering a:
    • Pick-up truck.
    • Motor home.
    • Trailer (except pull-behind campers) or a horse trailer with living quarters.
  • Payment for all required county and state fees and taxes.

To be sure you have everything you need before getting in line at the Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT) county treasurer’s office, visit www.transfermyauto.com, answer 3 to 5 questions to generate a checklist of what is needed. Military personnel often get tax breaks in many states, your checklist will indicate if this is the case.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Wisconsin Car Title Transfer and Registration

Vehicle registration must be completed with the Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in order to legally drive on WI roadways. So what do you need to take with you to complete your transaction the first time? It depends on how you own your automobile (leasing, making payments, or owner with title) and how you want to register (single, joint, business or transfer to family member) your automobile.

You must register your vehicle with the Wisconsin DMV after establishing residency. Most Wisconsin vehicle registration certificates are valid for 1 year.

Vehicle Registration & Title Transfer Process

To complete the registration of your vehicle and transfer the title with the Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you must provide the following:

  • Your vehicle title & current out-of-state car registration.
  • A completed Title/License Plate Application (Form MV1).
  • Proof of identification (e.g. driver’s license, valid U.S. passport, military ID).
  • Proof of sales tax paid to your prior state if you’ve owned the vehicle for less than 90 days.
  • Payment for registration and title fees, plus applicable municipal or county wheel tax.

To apply for a temporary 90 day registration while waiting for your permanent registration to arrive, visit your local WI Division of Motor Vehicles office with:

If you’re a non-resident shopping for a vehicle in Wisconsin, you may buy a temporary plate to drive the vehicle home. Visit any Wisconsin DMV office to obtain them.

To be sure you have everything you need before getting in line at the Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office, visit www.transfermyauto.com, answer 3 to 5 questions to generate a checklist of what is needed. Military personnel often get tax breaks in many states, your checklist will indicate if this is the case.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

West Virginia Car Title Transfer and Registration

Vehicle registration must be completed with the West Virginia Department of Transportation (WVDOT) in order to legally drive on WV roadways. So what do you need to take with you to complete your transaction the first time? It depends on how you own your automobile (leasing, making payments, or owner with title) and how you want to register (single, joint, business or transfer to family member) your automobile.

West Virginia gives new residents 30 days to register and title their vehicles upon establishing residency in the state.

Registration occurs at your local WV DOT branch. Bring your title, driver’s license, completed application form, and payment for your registration fee. New West Virginia residents should bring your current registration certificate, as well as proof of residency in the state.

Vehicle Registration & Title Transfer Process

To complete the registration of your vehicle and transfer the title with the West Virginia Department of Transportation (WVDOT), you must provide the following:

  • The out-of-state title and registration.
    • If you have a loan on your vehicle, you need a photocopy of the title, or printout of an electronic lien, and a letter from the lienholder showing they have the title.
  • Proof of residency (mortgage/lease/rental agreement, utility bills, etc.)
  • An Application for Certificate of Title for a Motor Vehicle (form DMV-1-TR), which will be used for both title and registration.
  • Auto insurance information.
  • Payment for all registration and titling fees and taxes.

Note that you will have 10 days from the day you register/title your vehicle to complete a vehicle inspection.

To be sure you have everything you need before getting in line at the West Virginia Department of Transportation (WVDOT) office, visit www.transfermyauto.com, answer 3 to 5 questions to generate a checklist of what is needed. Military personnel often get tax breaks in many states, your checklist will indicate if this is the case.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Washington Car Title Transfer and Registration

Vehicle registration must be completed with the Washington State Department of Licensing in order to legally drive on WA roadways. So what do you need to take with you to complete your transaction the first time? It depends on how you own your automobile (leasing, making payments, or owner with title) and how you want to register (single, joint, business or transfer to family member) your automobile.

New residents have 30 days to register and title their vehicle when they move to Washington.  Titling your vehicle and registering are the same process in Washington, so both will be completed at the same time.

Unlike most states, you are not required to provide proof of insurance when you register the vehicle, but auto insurance is mandatory in Washington. If you are pulled over by the police and do not have insurance, you will be fined.

Vehicle Registration & Title Transfer Process

To complete the registration of your vehicle and transfer the title with the Washington State Department of Licensing, you must provide the following:

  • A signed Vehicle Certificate of Ownership (Title) Application (Form TD-420-001). All owners must sign in order for the signatures to be verified by a licensing agent.
  • Your vehicle title.
    • If a lienholder currently has the title, have them send you a copy of the front and back of it.
    • If you do not have a title or a copy it, contact your local licensing office.
  • The odometer disclosure statement for vehicles up to 10 years old.
  • The emissions testing paperwork, if applicable.
  • A bill of sale or dealer purchase agreement, if you have owned the vehicle for less than 90 days.
  • Payment for all registration fees.

To be sure you have everything you need before getting in line at the Washington State Department of Licensing office, visit www.transfermyauto.com, answer 3 to 5 questions to generate a checklist of what is needed. Military personnel often get tax breaks in many states, your checklist will indicate if this is the case.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Virginia Car Title Transfer and Registration

Vehicle registration must be completed with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in order to legally drive on VA roadways. So what do you need to take with you to complete your transaction the first time? It depends on how you own your automobile (leasing, making payments, or owner with title) and how you want to register (single, joint, business or transfer to family member) your automobile.

Once you establish residency in the state, you will have 30 days to complete your vehicle registration and titling with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

Before you can legally drive in Virginia, you must register and title your car with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Both are completed at the same time, which saves you an extra trip to the VA DMV.

Vehicle Registration & Title Transfer Process

To complete the registration of your vehicle and transfer the title with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, you must provide the following:

  • A completed Application for Registration (Form VSA 14).
  • Proof of identity and address.
  • Your vehicle’s inspection certificate.
  • Proof of insurance OR payment for the $500 uninsured motorist fee.
  • Payment for your registration fees.
  • Documentation and payment for titling your vehicle.
    • Required only if you haven’t previously titled your vehicle with the VA DMV

A Virginia registration card and license plate will be issued upon completion of the vehicle registration.  The registration must be kept in your vehicle at all times. You will need to renew your vehicle registration either every year or every 2 years, depending on which option you choose.

To be sure you have everything you need before getting in line at the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office, visit www.transfermyauto.com, answer 3 to 5 questions to generate a checklist of what is needed. Military personnel often get tax breaks in many states, your checklist will indicate if this is the case.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Vermont Car Title Transfer and Registration

Vehicle registration must be completed with the Vermont’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in order to legally drive on VT roadways. So what do you need to take with you to complete your transaction the first time? It depends on how you own your automobile (leasing, making payments, or owner with title) and how you want to register (single, joint, business or transfer to family member) your automobile.

After establishing Vermont residency, you must register your vehicle with Vermont’s Department of Motor Vehicles within 60 days.

Vehicle Registration & Title Transfer Process

To apply for a Vermont car registration certificate, visit your local DMV office with:

  • A completed Registration/Tax/Title Application (Form VD-119).
  • A signature on the application certifying you have car insurance. It must meet the state’s minimum coverage levels:
    • $25,000 for injury to one person.
    • $50,000 for injury to two or more.
    • $10,000 for damages to property.
  • A current odometer reading.
  • Vehicle title.
    • If the title is being held by a lienholder, you must appear at a full-time Vermont DMV location with the name and address of the lien company and the vehicle’s current out-of-state registration certificate.
  • Proof of the amount of tax paid on the vehicle.
    • Exempt if you’ve owned the vehicle for 3 years or more.
  • Vehicle identification number (VIN) verification.
    • Completed by a designated DMV agent or by a VT law enforcement officer.
  • Payment for all Vermont car registration fees.

IMPORTANT NOTE: You will have 15 days from the date you first register your vehicle in Vermont to have it inspected. Please see our “Vehicle Inspections” section below for details.

To be sure you have everything you need before getting in line at the Vermont’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office, visit www.transfermyauto.com, answer 3 to 5 questions to generate a checklist of what is needed. Military personnel often get tax breaks in many states, your checklist will indicate if this is the case.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Utah Car Title Transfer and Registration

Vehicle registration must be completed with the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in order to legally drive on UT roadways. So what do you need to take with you to complete your transaction the first time? It depends on how you own your automobile (leasing, making payments, or owner with title) and how you want to register (single, joint, business or transfer to family member) your automobile.

After establishing Utah residency, you have 60 days to register and title your vehicle with the Utah DMV.

To register your vehicle with the UT DMV, visit your closest office location with your vehicle title, driver’s license, proof of insurance, and certificate of inspection, if required. Your registration is based on your vehicle’s year and weight, plus your county of residence.

Vehicle Registration & Title Transfer Process

To register your vehicle with the UT DMV, you will need to provide the following to your local DMV office:

  • A completed Vehicle Application for Utah Title (Form TC-656).
  • Your vehicle title & current registration certificate.
  • A completed Certificate of Inspection (Form TC-661).
    • The vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection can be completed by a DMV employee during registration process.
  • Proof of passing a safety inspection and/or emissions test, if applicable.
  • Payment for registration fees.

To be sure you have everything you need before getting in line at the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office, visit www.transfermyauto.com, answer 3 to 5 questions to generate a checklist of what is needed. Military personnel often get tax breaks in many states, your checklist will indicate if this is the case.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Tennessee Car Title Transfer and Registration

Vehicle registration must be completed with the Tennessee Department of Revenue (DOR) at your local county clerk’s office in order to legally drive on TN roadways. So what do you need to take with you to complete your transaction the first time? It depends on how you own your automobile (leasing, making payments, or owner with title) and how you want to register (single, joint, business or transfer to family member) your automobile.

If you live in a county that requires emissions testing, you will need to get that taken care of prior to applying for registration and titling. You must visit the local county clerk’s office in the county where you live to register and title your car or truck.

Unlike most other states, insurance from a TN authorized insurance company is not required to register your vehicle for the first time. However, It is illegal to drive without insurance, and you can have your license suspended if you cannot provide proof of insurance if you’re pulled over or in an accident. A STOP can be put on your driving record, which will keep you from registering a car or renewing your registration.

Vehicle Registration & Title Transfer Process

In order to register your vehicle with the Tennessee Department of Revenue (DOR), you will need to visit your local county clerk’s office with the following:

  • Passed emissions test paperwork, if required.
    • Payment for the emissions test will be taken at the county clerk’s office.
  • The current or most recent out-of-state registration.
  • Vehicle Title
    • Have the name and address of the lienholder if you have a loan out on the vehicle.
  • Proof of identification (U.S. driver’s license, birth certificate, military ID, etc.).
  • Proof of residency (rental or mortgage agreement, utility bill, paycheck stub, etc.).
  • Payment for all required fees.

To be sure you have everything you need before getting in line at your local county clerk’s office, visit www.transfermyauto.com, answer 3 to 5 questions to generate a checklist of what is needed. Military personnel often get tax breaks in many states, your checklist will indicate if this is the case.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

South Dakota Car Title Transfer and Registration

Vehicle registration must be completed with the South Dakota Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in order to legally drive on SD roadways. So what do you need to take with you to complete your transaction the first time? It depends on how you own your automobile (leasing, making payments, or owner with title) and how you want to register (single, joint, business or transfer to family member) your automobile.

You have 90 days from the day you move to the state to title and register your vehicle with the South Dakota Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

Vehicle Registration & Title Transfer Process

In order to register your vehicle, you’ll need to provide the following in person at your local South Dakota county treasurer’s office:

To be sure you have everything you need before getting in line at the South Dakota Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office, visit www.transfermyauto.com, answer 3 to 5 questions to generate a checklist of what is needed. Military personnel often get tax breaks in many states, your checklist will indicate if this is the case.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

South Carolina

Vehicle registration must be completed with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV) in order to legally drive on SC roadways. So what do you need to take with you to complete your transaction the first time? It depends on how you own your automobile (leasing, making payments, or owner with title) and how you want to register (single, joint, business or transfer to family member) your automobile.

You have 45 days to apply for a South Carolina vehicle registration certificate after moving to the state, after which, your registration will be valid for 2 years.

Before registering, you must first pay your county’s vehicle property tax with your county auditor. Be sure to secure an original paid vehicle property tax receipt after paying. You’ll need this to register. You will also have to pay the one-time $250 Infrastructure Maintenance Fee (IMF).

Once you have the receipts, you’re ready to register and title your vehicle, which can be accomplished simultaneously.

Vehicle Registration & Title Transfer Process

In order to register your vehicle in South Carolina, visit your local SCDMV office with the following:

To be sure you have everything you need before getting in line at the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV) office, visit www.transfermyauto.com, answer 3 to 5 questions to generate a checklist of what is needed. Military personnel often get tax breaks in many states, your checklist will indicate if this is the case.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail